View of Saddleback from Berry Picker’s

The charm and challenge of the scenic Berry Picker’s trail (Saddleback) is that it is not easy to reach the upper or the lower trailhead. To reach the upper, located on the AT in the col between Saddleback and the Horn, hikers must trek up either the AT or the ski slopes. To reach the lower, off Potato Hill Road, one can either drive to the closed bridge (unsafe for vehicles, unclear if safe for pedestrians) and road-walk 3 miles or utilize the Fly Rod Crosby trail.

I had incorporated the upper 1.5 miles of Berry Picker’s into loops on two separate occasions: once with the AT, once with the ski slopes. Both times, I hopped on the Fly Rod Crosby trail to return to my origin point. Highly recommend both loops. I had never considered starting at the Potato Hill Rd trailhead, because I had heard the roads were rough and hard-to-follow.

As I approach finishing the Western Lakes and Mountains section of the Maine Mountain Guide, I knew I needed the lower part of Berry Picker’s. I wanted it soon. It is a low-elevation trail. I am cleaning up accessible low-elevation trails while I wait for roads to solidify and rotten snow to melt.

After calculating mileage and guesstimating conditions, I chose the Fly Rod Crosby approach, a 12.6 mile route roundtrip. Started at the Rock Pond trailhead 2600 feet. Still seemed like two feet of snow under the softening packed trail (snowshoes recommended but you will still break through to water).

Easier going on the snowmobile trails, no need for snowshoes or traction there. The snowpack does begin to fragment until south of the AT crossing. I found I preferred walking on the patches of snow rather than sinking into the mud.

The thrill of the day? Cresting a steep hill, pulling out my camera, only to find a moose 1/4 mile down the trail dumbfounded to see a hiker. “It’s April, what are you doing here?” he seemed to say before taking off.

I had not rushed to complete the southernmost mile of Berry Picker’s because I heard it was unspectacular. Now it may be unspectacular compared to magic of the upper section. For an ATV trail, this one mile stretch has mountain views ascending and descending. I crossed 4-5 wet, soft spots on this mile stretch that an out-of-stater might suggest need culverts. You have been warned.

Important note if using the Maine Mountain Guide: the ATV gate is no more. It has been dismembered and pieces visible on the side of the trail. No “Berry Picker’s” signage exists at the trailhead. The signage says “ITS 89”, “ITS 84”, and “Coos Canyon 53 miles”. No formal parking but cell service. It feels like the Wild Wild West of Western Maine, remote and rough and fun for that reason.

Leave a comment